Mitre Goal of the Year 2016

Mitre have once again teamed up with the EFL and Football on 5 to give you the opportunity to vote for the best English Football League goal of 2016!

There has been plenty! With 72 teams battling it out in the Championship, League One and League Two throughout the standard season, as well as the Play-Off’s, EFL Cup and EFL Trophy there were plenty to choose from.

Fantastic team goals! Thunderbolts into the top corner! Cheeky chips! Incredible Volleys! After every EFL club submitted their stand-out goal of the last calendar year a final 10 have been selected and these were revealed this evening on Football on 5. But which ones were they?

Adam Hammill (Barnsley) v Millwall – 29/05/16
Steve Sidwell (Brighton) v Bristol City – 05/11/16
Lee Tomlin (Bristol City) v Huddersfield – 30/04/2016
Fabio Da Silva (Cardiff) v Middlesbrough – 23/02/16
Darren Bent (Derby County) v Wolves – 05/11/16
Nathan Thomas (Hartlepool) v Grimsby – 01/10/2016
Stephen O’Donnell (Luton) v Yeovil – 13/08/2016
Ricky Holmes (Northampton) v Leyton Orient – 13/02/16
Wes Hoolahan (Norwich) v Rotherham – 15/10/16
Michael Doyle (Portsmouth) v Accrington – 08/03/16

The list now needs the shortlist whittling down from 10 to just 5. It seems pretty impossible but to do this we’re inviting you to vote for your favourite. To enter simply vote for your choice here.

The overall winner will then be decided on the night of the 2017 EFL Awards. Last season saw Marco Matias walk away with the award for his incredible strike for Sheffield Wednesday against Leeds United. But who will it be this year?


  • Paul Bennett

    Bent v wolves

    • Good shout! Was excellently executed.

  • Andrew Gwilt

    Wes Hoolahan when he scored against Rotherham Rotherham on 15/10/16.

    • Certainly a good one – great individual skill and composure. #madewithmitre

  • Andrew morris

    Adam Hammill Barnsley in the play off final outstanding run and finish in this important game

    • Great goal in such a big occasion! #madewithmitre